Creating, managing, copying and deleting maps


BACK TO HELP CENTER

Creating, managing, copying and deleting maps

in-brief-button

It is all done from the Maps Page; create map, copy map, delete map, rename map

In the Elements Home app, select ‘Maps’ from the left hand menu, and then Maps.

Click on NEW MAP button to create a new map. Add an optional description.(text is shown in the map list under the Map name).

Manage Maps

 

You will now have a new Map in the list of Maps. If you highlight it, you will see the details in the right panel. (see Managing Maps below)

If you want to start mapping, simply double click on the Map you want (or click on the name in blue which is an active link). A new tab will open up with the top diagram (Level 1) of the map displayed in view mode. Click on the ‘SWITCH TO EDIT’ button at the top right of the window and you will be edit mode and can start drawing. Tip: Ctrl-E (PC) or cmd-E (Mac) does the same as the ‘SWITCH TO EDIT’ button.

Even if you are a seasoned process mapper – we recommend you spend just 6 minutes on the basics behind mapping. 6 minutes now will save you (and your organisation) many hours later.

deep-dive-button

 

Managing maps

If you click on the (active) Map name, it will open the top-level diagram of the Map. If you select the map bar it opens up the details for this Map (right hand panel in screenshot above).

Sharing Maps

Click on the SHARE tab in the right hand panel to share the Map with the whole Team or Public Space, or to invite people (inside or outside your organization) to the Map and provide them with specific view, edit or manage rights to the Map. For more details on this see Sharing and Collaboration.

Copying Maps

You can copy maps if you have been granted rights to do so on being invited to the Map. If you do not have rights, a user with Map Management rights will have to check the box next to your name on the ‘SHARE’ tab to allow you to copy the Map. You can see who has these rights in the ‘Details’ tab on the Maps page.

To copy a Map, from the maps page you select the map to copy and then click on the ‘Copy map’ button in the right panel.

Manage Maps

You will then get the following dialogue, where you enter the name of the Map and the destination Team for the copy. While the copying takes place, you can continue working on the original map and do not have

to ensure that everyone is logged out of the Map. It will take a snapshot copy of everything that is currently stored against the Map on a Diagram by Diagram basis.

Copy map

The copied map will be shown as “copying” under the access column with a red dot and you can modify access/sharing properties while the copying is progressing. When completed – a notification appears on the screen and a record is shown on the “notifications” bell icon – top right of screen.

Resources and Data Tables are copied into the chosen Space if they do not already exist. Data Tables are related by underlying ID and name. If anything is changed, then the relationship between the source data table and the target one is broken and the data table will be copied into the library as datatable name_copyn.

If you delete the source map while copying is in progress, the copy is cancelled. If you delete levels of diagrams or modify the source map while the copy is in progress the copy is cancelled.

When a map is copied it includes the resources, attachments (notes, links and data tables, but not the data within the data tables).The map also includes a ‘digital fingerprint’ which records the first author and details of the originating team.

Deleting maps

If you are a map manager or map owner you can delete a map.  To delete a map, you highlight the map you want to delete and click on “Soft delete map” (button in red below). It is not permanenetly deleted, but moved to the DELETED folder. It can be restored from the DELETED folder back to the ACTIVE folder.

Manage Maps

Restoring maps

You simply click on the DELETED folder (Top Panel – to the right of ACTIVE). Highlight the map you want to restore. Click on RESTORE.

Exporting maps

The ‘Export Maps’ is accessed from the 3 dots in a vertical line to the right of the red “Soft delete map”.

Export Map

 

The export is a basic structure. It exports a standard JSON format file of the Map which we are using for transferring Elements Maps into other formats (like MS Visio), so that you can take content into other formats or tools. Though not as useful or functionally rich as using in Elements, it is a complete record of the content you are holding online with us, in a format you can edit and import into other applications in the future, should you ever want to.

Through the APIs it would also allow anyone to create an import from the standard JSON format into a tool or format of their choosing.

This area of the product will increase in capability over time based on customer feedback and specific validated demands.

  • Was this article helpful ?

  •    

BACK TO HELP CENTER