Digital rights management for maps
Elements allows users to securely share content not only within a Space but with people from other Spaces in any other organization and any location. When a user is invited from outside the Space to access a map their ability to copy that map can be turned on or off (off by default). Built into Elements is a digital rights management capability that allows a user to protect the further distribution of content that they have created, even if Copy is enabled.
Whenever a Diagram is created it has a fingerprint of the Space that the Map was create within, embedded into it. This fingerprint can never be changed or removed.
Under the ‘Maps’ option from the Elements home page, you can select a map, and you will see the right panel with ‘DETAILS’ by default as below. Toggle “Apply Digital Rights Management” on/off. Default is off.
If “Apply Digital Rights Management” is enabled on a Map, when that map is copied, the fingerprint on each diagram is transferred to the new Diagram in the copy of the map.
A map cannot be copied into a new Space if even one diagram has a fingerprint on it that does not belong to the Space that the current map belongs to.
This ensures that an organization within a Personal or Team Space that creates valuable content can share it with another User in another Space (or a Public Space) and not be worried that this content will be shared on to other companies without their knowledge and consent.
A map owner can turn on/off the fingerprint protection on a map (it is off by default).
When set to “off” (i.e. unchecked), when a map is copied into a new Team the fingerprint on all of diagrams will be set to be those of the new Team. This allows the content to then be copied on to another Team and/or incorporated in other maps.
BACK TO HELP CENTER